top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTED SHOCKLEY

What have you done for your community today?


What have you done for your community today? That’s what a friend of mine asked on social media a couple of days last weekend.


It’s a provocative question because it makes us face our important role as a vital part of a bigger whole.


In other words, the actions of each have a profound impact on all.


She threw the question out there Saturday and Sunday for everyone to ponder, and on both days, it stopped me and challenged me.


I want to think I do something for my community, but some days I probably fall short.


What, exactly, constitutes doing something for our community?


The possibilities are endless.


Maybe it is being pleasant to the guy in the fast-food drive-through. Maybe it is supporting a local business. Maybe it is publishing a story that helps others.


Some on the Eastern Shore have critical jobs and high callings, and do much more.


They are first responders and police officers, medical professionals and teachers.


They help Habitat for Humanity, volunteer with local fire and rescue companies, teach English to non-native speakers, and coach youth teams.


I’m not the type to share too much about myself, so I didn’t respond to my friend’s Facebook question by listing my good deeds.


But I loved reading the good deeds listed by others. It made me feel better.


Person after person listed acts big and small that contributed to Eastern Shore life.


During a difficult and divided time, I was encouraged and buoyed by the good works and spirit of giving.


I felt a camaraderie with others on the Eastern Shore who are proud to do what they can.


But social media is today’s Old West. It’s a rowdy environment. You never know where the trouble might come from.


Apparently someone claimed listing good deeds on Facebook was tantamount to bragging.


That disappointed my friend, who admitted she was just trying to bring people together.


Actually, bringing people together is among the most profound and difficult good deeds someone can attempt.


It’s also the biggest gift someone can give a community. Uniters are hard to find. Dividers are much more plentiful.


What have you done for your community today?


Last weekend, my friend tried in a small way to bring it together. It apparently was profound and exasperating, all at once.


But incredibly valuable.




77 views0 comments
bottom of page